Grovelands School - Curriculum


Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) caters for pupils aged three to five and includes Nursery (offering 15 or 30 hours) and Reception classes offering full time education from the age of four.

The EYFS is valued as an important first step in school and as the basis for future learning and development.  We provide an impressive, well equipped indoor and outdoor learning environment for our pupils, with a highly experienced staff team who promote:

  • a friendly, happy, secure and stimulating environment which promotes effective learning and positive behaviour
  • a cirriculum that develops children across all areas of learning
  • a child centred learning through play and first hand experiences

Areas of Learning

The EYFS is based on the following areas of learning:

  • Communication and language development
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We teach letters and sounds using Jolly Phonics. Children select books from a variety of reading schemes including Oxford Reading Tree, PM Books, and Songbirds.  

Key Stages 1 and 2

At Grovelands we offer a broad, relevant, creative and engaging curriculum taught through a topic based approach.  All children are taught the National Curriculum subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Information and Communications Technology, Music, Design and Technology, Geography, History, Physical Education, French and Religious Education as well as Personal and Social Education, and Philosophy. As a school, we meet all the statutory requirements for content and assessment of the current National Curriculum.    

Religious Education

Our RE syllabus is non-denominational and covers all major religions from around the world.  Learning about religion and learning from religion are important for helping children to develop an understanding of themselves and others.  RE promotes social, moral, spiritual and cultural development of individuals and groups from our community.  All children are expected to participate in our religious education lessons and daily assemblies.  

For further information regarding the national curriculum please visit the following link or contact the school.  

Primary School National Curriculum

Grammar Wizard

Grammar Wizard is a scheme throughout the school where the children can earn badges by practising their knowledge of grammar and punctuation. 

The award scheme was introduced as part of the new curriculum, in order to support children and parents with the new expectations for spelling, punctuation and grammar within the primary English framework, and has proved most popular with all year groups. 

It consists of a series of grammatical terms which the children learn to define, divided into groups or ‘steps’. Each time they have learnt some words in a step they can choose to be tested on a Wednesday lunchtime by either Mrs Hall or Mrs Ralph. The focus step for each child is stapled in to the back of their reading record book. On learning the required number of words they are presented with a badge, which they can wear on their uniform and swap for another when they have completed the next part. There are six steps in total and they gain the badges as follows: 

  • 4 words = ‘Apprentice’
  • 8 words = ‘High Flyer’
  • All words in a step = ‘Master’ 

Each step is colour coded and runs from 1 to 6, covering all of the grammatical terms needed for Key Stages 1 and 2, so it is learning that they will also be using in class. Once they have completed the sixth and final step, they are presented with a very special ‘Grovelands Grammar Wizard’ badge to keep. 

Please use the link below to access our SPAG booklet providing further information, including key terminology, explanations and examples.  

SPAG Booklet